Archives

How to use Sun Sign Astrology

DON’T!

No seriously, it’s not worth the paper or pixels it’s printed on. Sun Sign Astrology gives Real Astrology a bad name. When self-proclaimed Rationalists discover my astrological tendencies they often scoff: ‘Surely you don’t believe all that stuff and nonsense about planets making things happen?’

I reply, ‘No, of course not. I would never be so obtuse to assume something so patently absurd.’

Mr. Rational (and it’s usually a man) frowns, but unperturbed continues his assault on my perceived irrationality.. ‘But everyone’s different. How do you explain that?’

‘It’s complicated.’

‘Right, so you can’t. So you admit astrology is ridiculous.’

‘No. Astrology is complex and reflects the complex simplicity of the universe.’

At this point Mr. Rational either punches me on the nose or walks off in a huff, leaving me unable to launch into a discussion on hermetic philosophy and how it relates to chaos theory. Probably just as well…

I got into astrology by accident, for I too was once a self-proclaimed rationalist. I am a Virgo after all. I had one of those Your Year Ahead books, or something similar, and had been following the ‘predictions’ day by day. It was hopeless. It made no sense.

However, there was a section on the moon, detailing when it changed signs and what you could expect. So I started to follow that and noticed, to my incredible consternation, there was a pattern. Every time the moon entered certain signs I always felt a certain way. Somehow, impossibly, the moon and my feelings matched. How could this be?

I became curious. Where was the moon when I was born? (In the sky. Yes, very funny.) I found another book about the moon and discovered that at my birth it had been in Leo. Oooo, I thought, I wonder where all the other planets were – just out of curiosity you understand, I’m not going over to the dark side…

So my study of astrology began, almost 20 years ago, and I realised that Sun Sign Astrology is deliberately simplified to make it more accessible. Trouble is, that effectively renders it useless and superficial.

Real Astrology

Horoscopes are divided into 12 sections, called houses, each containing 30 degrees. The sign in the first house is found on the eastern horizon at the time and place of your birth and is called the Ascendant, or Rising Sign.

Sun Sign Astrology uses charts which always place the sun in the first house and at the first degree. Which is fine if you happen to have your sun in the first couple of degrees of your first house.

My sun is in the 7th house because Aquarius was rising when I was born. This is why my sun sign column in the paper never makes any sense. It’s not written for me.

So avoid Sun Sign Astrology – get your horoscope drawn up properly by a professional and learn how to interpret it yourself. If you really can’t resist having a peek at your horoscope in the paper, then look at your rising sign, not your sun sign. Even so, there’s still no guarantee it’ll make much more sense.

I’ll be exploring astrology in more detail soon, but in the meantime, if you’d like more information on how to draw up your own horoscope visit www.astro.com or www.cafeastrology.com

Comments...

