Archives

Esther Hicks 12 What?

I recently saw the You Tube clip of Esther Hicks’ 12 Truths. I enjoyed the images of fractals and ignored the cheesy music; as to the 12 so-called truths – well I had to write this…

Esther Hicks apparently channels communications from an alien called Abraham, or aliens called The Abrahams (sounds like a dodgy daytime soap), I’m not exactly sure, and I’m pretty sure it doesn’t much matter. I’ve never been convinced by all this new-age channelling that seems to be going on these days – but that’s another post for another time.

I wanted to look at each of Esther’s truths and to see if they are, well, true. So…

1. You are a physical extension of that which is non-physical

Immediately we encounter the problem with so much of this kind of stuff – its vagueness. It kind of sounds like it means something, but when you think about it you can’t seem to nail it down. What exactly is this non-physical ‘thing’ (can I even call it a thing if it’s non-physical?) of which I am a manifestation? Presumably, we’re talking spirit. I have no problem with the idea of matter being  condensed energy, but it does rather raise an awful lot of questions. Onwards…

2. You are here in this body because you chose to be here

This is absurd. Who did the choosing? I know my ‘self’ is essentially an illusion. The idea that who I think I am right now is the same as who I was ten minutes ago or last week or last year, is a fallacy. It is based on the illusion of memory and time. There is no separate self which moves from moment to moment. So how then, can you assume there is an individual soul which moves from life to life? It is philosophically inconsistent.

3. The basis of your life is freedom; the purpose of your life is joy

OK. I have no problem with that one. Except, I would say the purpose of your life is love – but it probably amounts to the same thing. Through practicing mindfulness meditation I am training myself to let go into original mind, or Big Mind as they call it in zen. Original mind is absolute freedom – freedom from the illusion of separateness from life. Recognition of your essential freedom gives rise to joy and its expression is love. (I must add – there is nothing wishy-washy about this kind of love. It is a furnace of annihilation.)

4. You are a creator; you create with your every thought

Yes, that’s true. But (and it’s a big but) what exactly are you creating? Did I think this computer into being? Clearly not. There are limits to this ‘you create your own reality’ thing and you must be very careful with it. Too much of the ‘law of attraction’ and ‘cosmic ordering’ stuff feeds directly into our worst primary narcissistic fantasies, encouraging us to become spoilt brats with too many possessions and not enough wisdom. There is some truth behind it, but it’s a lot more complicated than the proponents make out. I fear this way of ‘thinking’ is more a reflection of our self-indulgent ego-mania, than of sophisticated spirituality.

5. Anything that you can imagine is yours to be or do or have

Oh dear. Now, I can imagine some pretty far-fetched stuff; I have sickened and delighted myself with the products of my fevered mind (I’ll spare you the sordid details). I would be astonished if some of those flights of fancy became real, but it’s obvious to anyone who thinks about it for 5 seconds, that imagination isn’t enough. Telling someone who can’t sing that if they just believe in themselves they’ll become a singing sensation, is borderline cruelty. It’s a massive over-simplification of what it takes to achieve anything in the material world.

6. As you are choosing your thoughts, your emotions are guiding you

What? This is another of those statements that don’t really mean much and it’s rarely true for most of us. How much control do you have over your own thoughts? Not much, I’d wager. Most have little control over their emotions either. And to say we’re guided by our emotions – it would be more accurate to say we’re led astray by them. Most people are controlled more or less completely by unconscious fears and desires. We have little real understanding of why we do things or think the way we do. But we are very good at self-deception.

7. The universe adores you for it knows your broadest intentions

There’s punctuation missing somewhere – I think it should be ‘the universe adores you, for it…’ Here’s the thing – how exactly does the universe ‘adore’ anything. ‘The Universe’ is an abstract idea. How does an abstract idea love? And what exactly are your broadest intentions? Very vague – but isn’t it nice to be told you are adored? Even abstractly.

8. Relax into your natural well-being. All is well. (Really it is!)

Have you seen the news lately? All is clearly not well. Really. The danger with this kind of thinking is it leads to too much passivity. Everyone relaxes and feels good about themselves, meanwhile the world rips itself to pieces around them. Only someone living in an affluent, middle-class bubble could convince themselves of this pernicious falsehood.

9. You are a creator of thoughtways on your unique path of joy

Not sure what this is supposed to mean. What are ‘thoughtways’? I don’t know. More meaningless babbling.

10. Actions to be taken and possessions to be exchanged are by-products of your focus on joy

Another meaningless statement. Let’s turn it round – so I focus on joy and do stuff and get stuff. Is this just another way of saying ‘Love and do what you will’? OK in principle, but as we saw in number 3, love is an annihilation, a surrender, and most definitely not about me, me, me. This ‘truth’ is starting to look like another excuse for some narcissistic mutual masturbation.

11. You may appropriately depart your body without illness or pain

I think I know what she’s trying to get at here…. Yes, we’d all like to die peacefully of old age. I have a problem with the idea of departing the body – as if you and your body are two separate things and you can exist without it, as you, an individual. We’re back to the old problem we saw in number 2 – the existence of an individual soul. See also….

12. You cannot die; you are everlasting life

You will die. The you that you normally think of as yourself, will most assuredly die. However, I do agree with her statement – but only looked at from a certain perspective. Once you have been annihilated by love and have surrendered to your deeper truth (which is original mind – unborn and uncreated), then and only then, can you know this truth. The ‘you’ that cannot die, the ‘you’ that is everlasting life, is impersonal. It is Life itself. The you that is personal, the you that goes shopping and gossips and thinks of itself as a person and goes to work and shouts at the TV, is mortal and ever so perishable. And ever so precious as a result.

Make your own mind up about Esther’s truths by clicking here.

Comments...

