Shining Ones

Must try harder

This week I started work on the 2nd draft of my second novel: an angelic thriller set in the near future, called ASCENSION: The Prophecy. I completed the first draft earlier this year, but when I came to read it a couple of weeks later, I had a shock. It was the worst thing I had ever written. And I’ve written some pretty bad stuff. A mini breakdown ensued. I know the stats: the odds of getting something published or making any money from writing novels are nerve shredding and sanity imperilling, and yet I persist.

Unwilling to abandon what I believe is a damn good story, I gutted the draft, rehashed the plot and pumped up the character arcs. Armed with my new outline, I went back to the beginning and started again. The problem was I had got so caught up worrying about writing something good (read: commercial), that I hadn’t got inside the story. The first draft was written from the outside, so to speak. I didn’t feel it. I didn’t commit.

So after a week of writing I finally have 6,066 words I can be proud of. I was actually aiming to write 2,000 words a day, but the writing wheels were a little sticky and it took me far too long to get going each day. Still, 6,000 words isn’t bad for six days work.

Next week: must try harder…

2 thoughts on “Must try harder

  1. Wish I could be that committed. I love writing. Poems, Stories, Articles.. It’s getting myself to start that’s the problem. Or when I do start, getting myself to finish. So I admire people who do it.
    Wishing you luck!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Wryder.
      Starting is always the hardest part – getting that huge boulder moving and then pushing it up the hill. So much easier to not bother! But then, like you say, keeping going is tough too – so many distractions, so many other things you need to be doing. I find imagining the finished story, article or book helps to motivate me. Just think how good it will be when it’s done! Then I can work through all the bad days knowing that eventually I will get to the end.
      Then of course, you have to go back to the beginning and rewrite it!
      Thanks for the encouragement, and don’t give up trying 😉

      Like

Comments...

